The IPL 2023 auction Date is just around the corner. So far, there have been some big changes in the teams and players list. Some of the big names include Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, and more. The IPL 2023 auction will be held on December 18, 2022.

IPL 2023 Auction Date, Teams, Players List, Rules

IPL 2023 Auction Date


IPL 2023 Auction Date

The much-awaited auction for the 2023 season of the Indian Premier League will be held on the 6th of February. The venue for the auction has not been announced yet but it is most likely to be held in Mumbai. All eight franchises will be present at the auction and they will be looking to buy some quality players to bolster their squad for the upcoming season.

Some of the big names that are expected to go under the hammer are Chris Gayle, Ravindra Jadeja, Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, Kagiso Rabada and Jasprit Bumrah. These players will fetch a lot of money and it will be interesting to see which team buys them.

The rules for the auction are simple. Each team can spend a maximum of ₹85 crore on buying players. They can have a maximum squad of 25 players which can include a maximum of 8 overseas players.

IPL Players List 2023

The following is the list of players who will be up for grabs in the IPL auction 2023:

1. Lasith Malinga
2. Chris Gayle
3. MS Dhoni
4. Virat Kohli
5. AB de Villiers
6. Jasprit Bumrah
7. Rohit Sharma
8. Kagiso Rabada
9. Sunil Narine
10. Andre Russell

Venues of IPL 2023:

The IPL is played at various cricket grounds around India. The main venues of the IPL are Eden Gardens in Kolkata, Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, Feroz Shah Kotla Ground in Delhi, Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad and M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

In addition to these main venues, the IPL also uses a number of other cricket grounds around India, including the Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad, Green Park Stadium in Kanpur, Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi, Indore Stadium and Pune Stadium.

IPL T20 Retained Players 2023

As the IPL enters its 14th season, a number of changes have been made to the rules regarding player retention. In the past, each team was allowed to retain up to 3 players from their squad of the previous season. However, this has now been increased to 5 players.

In addition, the teams are now allowed to use a combination of both pre-auction retention and Right To Match (RTM) cards during the auction process. This means that a team can retain up to 5 players before the auction and then use their RTM cards to match the winning bids for up to 2 more players during the auction.

The list of retained players for each team is as follows:

  • Chennai Super Kings
S.No Retained Players (Expected) Released Players (Expected)
1 Ms Dhoni Robin Uthappa
 2 Devon Conway Chris Jordan
 3 Daniel Sams Adam Milne
 4 Ruturaj Gaikwad Tushar Deshpande
 5 Deepak Chahar Simarjeet Singh
  • Delhi Capital’s
S.No Retained Players (Expected) Released Players (Expected)
1 Rishabh Pant Sarfaraz Khan
 2 Dawid Warner Mandeep Singh
 3 Prithvi Shaw Tim Seifert
 4 Kuldeep Yadav Lungi Ngidi
 5 Shardul Thakur Mustafizurrahman
  • Mumbai Indians
S.No Retained Players (Expected) Released Players (Expected)
1 Rohit Sharma Kieron Pollard
2 Tilak Varma Jaydev Unadkat
 3 Daniel Sams Riley Meredith
4 Jaspreet Bumrah Tymal Mills
 5 Suryakumar Yadav Aryan Juyal
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
S.No Retained Players (Expected) Released Players (Expected)
1 Virat Kohli Anuj Rawat
 2 Dinesh Karthik Siddarth Kaul
 3 Wanindu Hasaranga Dawid Willey
 4 Faf Du Plessis Mohammad Siraj
 5 Rajat Patidar Chama Milind
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
S.No Retained Players (Expected) Released Players (Expected)
1 Shreyas Iyer Harshit Rana
 2 Andre Russell Sheldon Jackson
 3 Nitish Rana Shivam Mavi
 4 Umesh Yadav Aaron Finch
 5 Pat Cummins Ajinkya Rahane
  • Punjab Kings
S.No Retained Players (Expected) Released Players (Expected)
1 Liam Livingston Sandeep Sharma
 2 Shikhar Dhawan Harpreet Brar
 3 Kagiso Rabada Benny Howell
 4 Arshdeep Singh Prabhsimran Singh
 5 Shahrukh Khan Nathan Ellis
  • Rajasthan Royals
S.No Retained Players (Expected) Released Players (Expected)
1 Jos Buttler Rassie Van Der Dussen
 2 Yuzvendra Chahal Navdeep Saini
 3 Prasidh Krishna Obed Mccoy
 4 Sanju Samson Daryl Mitchell
  • Gujarat Titans
S.No Retained Players (Expected) Released Players (Expected)
1 Hardik Pandya Jason Roy
 2 Rashid Khan Vijay Shankar
 3 David Miller Varun Aaron
 4 Shubhman Gill Noor Ahmad
 5 Mohammed Shami Gurkeerat Singh
  • Lucknow Super Giants
S.No Retained Players (Expected) Released Players (Expected)
1 Kl Rahul Evin Lewis
 2 Quinton De Kock Manish Pandey
 3 Deepak Hooda Ankit Rajpoot
 4 Avesh Khan Karan Sharma
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
S.No Retained Players (Expected) Released Players (Expected)
1 Abhishek Sharma Abdul Samad
 2 Rahul Tripathi J. Suchit
 4 Aiden Markram Glenn Philipps
 5 Kane Williamson Romario Shepherd

IPL T-Twenty Rules 2023

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India contested between the eight teams representing eight different cities in India. The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2008, and is currently sponsored by Vivo.

The rules for the IPL were last updated in 2018, and will remain unchanged for the 2023 season. Each team will play 14 matches in the league stage, with the top four teams qualifying for the playoffs. The playoffs will consist of two semi-finals and one final, with the winners of each semi-final meeting in the final.

In order to be eligible to play in the IPL, players must be aged 18 or over and have either played international cricket or First-class cricket within the previous three years. A player can only sign for one team per season, and can only be bought or sold during the auction or transfer window.

The salary cap for each team is $9 million USD per season, with each team allowed to spend up to $5 million USD on overseas players. There is no limit on the number of overseas players that a team can have in their squad, but they can only field four overseas players in their playing XI.